Log in

Log in


  • Home
  • Ray Barker Award

Ray Barker Award

Nomination Form - Nominations have been extended to the 14th April 2023

The Ray Barker Award for Distinguished Service to VET Research has been instituted as a way of recognising the distinguished long-term and exemplary contributions to VET research of a nominated member of AVETRA. The Award recognises significant contributions to VET research and scholarship and the promotion of VET research.

This on-going award is funded by AVETRA and is offered on a biennial basis. Applications are sought in February for award in even years. The award will be presented at the AVETRA Conference. Eligibility: All nominees must be current AVETRA members.

Dr Ray Barker was a foundation member of AVETRA with a long background in training and development. He worked in the film industry in the 1930s in Sydney and joined the Royal Australian Navy at the outbreak of the second world war. Ray Barker served on the HMAS Perth and was aboard when it was sunk in the Sunda Straits in 1942 and he became a prisoner of war. After the war Ray studied psychology at Sydney University and overseas and was involved in pioneering workplace and workforce research. Ray returned temporarily to work in the film industry but left to work in oil and gas industry. Working for BP he was involved in the commissioning and management of petrochemical works in Australia in the 1960s, specialising in training and workforce programs. Barker left the corporate sector to work in consulting and worked with a range of public and private clients on training and workforce issues in the Asia Pacific region. Dr Ray Barker completed his PhD at Newcastle University and researched apprenticeships and private training using a historical context.

2023 Winner

Professor Llandis Barratt-Pugh (University of Western Australia)

Previous Awardees

2020 Professor Gerald Burke

2016  Erica Smith (Federation University)

2014  No awardee

2012  Stephen Billett (Griffith University)

2010   No awardee

2008  No awardee

2006   Roger Harris (University of South Australia)

Criteria for award for the Ray Barker Award for Distinguished Service to VET Research can be found in the Nomination Form. AVETRA reserves the right not to make an award if none of the applications received meets the criteria for award. 

Follow our activities

© AVETRA 2022

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software