Log in

Log in

Login to gain access to the
Member Portal

Join  |  Renew 

Latest NEWS

2024 AVETRA Conference Call for Abstracts Now Open.

Submissions are now being accepted for this years conference being held in Sydney in October.  Submissions close on 24th June.  For more information about the conference theme, how to write a paper and the submission form, please follow this link. 

New Managing Director for NCVER

The National Centre for Vocational Education Research (NCVER) today announced the appointment of its new Managing Director, Mr John King.

The Chair of the NCVER Board, Dr Ruth Shean AO, stated, 'The Board is delighted to announce that from July 2024 Mr John King will become the next Managing Director of NCVER.  Read More

Welcome to AVETRA!

AVETRA is Australasia’s only independent association for research in vocational education and training. We bring together research stakeholders and researchers from the TAFE, university, industry and government sectors.

Who is AVETRA for?

AVETRA membership is open to any individual who is engaged in, or has an interest in, VET research and its results. AVETRA members include:

  • TAFE and university-based researchers
  • training managers
  • industry-based trainers and managers
  • VET decision-makers.

More about us

Why join?

As an AVETRA member, you will be part of a professional-development network promoting high-quality VET research and vigorous debate of research issues that will keep you informed of the latest developments. As well as individual and Institutional membership, there are reduced rates available for student and concession card holders, retired, casual and NCVER staff.

Learn more


AVETRA 2024 Conference date and theme have been announced!

Click here for more detail on the conference theme

Upcoming Events

Featured Resources


AVETRA members enjoy access to the latest in vocational education and training research, with complimentary or discounted access to Research Today, The International Journal of Training and Research, AVETRA A-News and the AVETRA Conference Archives. Just another reason that you should join AVETRA today!

Read more

Early Career Resources

Ever wondered how to begin research or how you get started on your research journey? If so, you are not alone! Many early career researchers in the VET sector have expressed the need for some way to readily accessing resources that would help them get started. The Research Resources Repository is for you!

Read more


Bringing Vocational Education and Training Researchers Together

This online platform is one of the outcomes of AVETRA’s project to support new VET researchers, VET educators who have an interest in the use of VET research, and those already involved in research.

It is particularly aimed at those VET educators/practitioners who might be interested in practice-based research or inquiry.

Visit Hub

Follow our activities

© AVETRA 2022

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software